All of us at some point in the day, if not every five minutes, looks in a mirror … What do we see?
What we see is our reflection, ourselves. And what we see is pretty much an indication of what we may be feeling at that moment in time and, sometimes we just look at ourselves and say, “it’s time to make a change!”
That change might be in our careers, our attitudes or a physical change, or setting new goals. I think that our mission should be to identify that change and then to go for it, to make those changes, whatever needs to happen that makes you love that man in the mirror.

Phenix Founder President and Hair Expert, Gina Rivera.

Phenix Founder President and Hair Expert, Gina Rivera.

Michael Jackson produced one of his many great hits, “Man in the Mirror,” about just this idea, and he is one of many artists to include the instructive power of the mirror in their work. Of course, the vast majority of time, we pass mirrors with little notice. I am suggesting that we take the time, at least once a day, to look deeply. Be strong, be critical and understanding, even compassionate, then seek the change.
compassionate, be patientwe hardly notice I’m proud of what we’ve done at Phenix Salon Suites but this made me want to do more, to create an even better work environment. Their lives, their strength and bravery caused me to look deep inside and now I am going to work harder than ever to provide a better environment and more opportunities for all our salon professionals. I will also take what I learned to our franchise partners to further strengthen the brand and this way of life that gives our brand meaning and significance.
With that said, I am not a ‘boss.’ One of the great things we’ve done at Phenix is to make the salon professionals their own bosses. We all are bosses and leaders of our own lives and our own businesses. And, in a very real sense, I work for you, the salon professionals. Your success is my success.
So, don’t suppose that it all ends here. Another thing I learned from this experience is that I must repeatedly go into our salons and ask our professionals for their concerns and suggestions. I pride myself on communication with our salon professionals and this was a wake-up call. I am very proud of what we’ve done, but I can and will do better. The one-on-one interaction was invaluable and I’m committed to doing more of that.
We’re in one of the greatest businesses in the world. There is nothing more rewarding than making people look great and feel great about themselves, and when they walk away feeling like a million bucks, they carry that good vibe throughout their lives.

