Tags

, , , , ,

Phenix Founder President and Hair Expert, Gina Rivera.

Phenix Founder President and Hair Expert, Gina Rivera.

I had no idea what I was walking into. I’d seen “Undercover Boss” on CBS numerous times. I thought I understood, but I didn’t. I walked away from that experience having been humbled, inspired and blessed. It made me want to be a better leader. It made me take a deep look inside myself.
I’m proud of what we’ve done at Phenix Salon Suites but this made me want to do more, to create an even better work environment. Their lives, their strength and bravery caused me to look deep inside and now I am going to work harder than ever to provide a better environment and more opportunities for all our salon professionals. I will also take what I learned to our franchise partners to further strengthen the brand and this way of life that gives our brand meaning and significance.
With that said, I am not a ‘boss.’ One of the great things we’ve done at Phenix is to make the salon professionals their own bosses. We all are bosses and leaders of our own lives and our own businesses. And, in a very real sense, I work for you, the salon professionals. Your success is my success.
So, don’t suppose that it all ends here. Another thing I learned from this experience is that I must repeatedly go into our salons and ask our professionals for their concerns and suggestions. I pride myself on communication with our salon professionals and this was a wake-up call. I am very proud of what we’ve done, but I can and will do better. The one-on-one interaction was invaluable and I’m committed to doing more of that.
We’re in one of the greatest businesses in the world. There is nothing more rewarding than making people look great and feel great about themselves, and when they walk away feeling like a million bucks, they carry that good vibe throughout their lives.

